The Individual Satyagraha Movement of 1940-41 in India

Daljeet Singh


The Congress ministries resigned in protest against the government policies.  It is worthwhile to mention that the seed of the Individual Satayagraha Movement was sown at the 53rd annual session of the Indian National Congress held under the Presidentship of Maulana Abul Kalam Azad on the 19-20th March 1940 at Ramgarh. The Individual Satyagraha was to pass through four distinct phases. In the meantime, the war situation became very menacing subsequent to the Nazi’s invasion on Russia 22nd June, 1941. Consequently U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt and the British Prime Minister Winston S. Churchill issued the famous 8 points ‘Atlantic Charter’ which was regarded as the ‘Magna Charta’ for the emancipation of subjugated subjects. But Churchill announced in the House of Commons on 9th September 1941 that the Atlantic Charter’s self-government clause did not apply to India.Japanese bombarding on thePearl Harbour in the morning on Sunday, the War situation worsened rapidly. Individual Civil Disobedience Movement postponed.

Full Text:



  • There are currently no refbacks.

Copyright (c) 2017 Edupedia Publications Pvt Ltd

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.


EduPedia Publications Pvt Ltd, D-351, Prem Nagar-2, Suleman Nagar, Kirari, Nagloi, New Delhi PIN-Code 110086, India Through Phone Call us now: +919958037887 or +919557022047

All published Articles are Open Access at

Paper submission: or


Mobile:                  +919557022047 & +919958037887


Journals Maintained and Hosted by

EduPedia Publications (P) Ltd in Association with Other Institutional Partners

Pen2Print and IJR are registered trademark of the Edupedia Publications Pvt Ltd.